Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-27-2021, 05:59 PM   #1

Noob with a Gillig bus obsession

Hi everyone,
Thanks for starting a group like this. I'm "neurotaffy" a name chosen by a random computer algorithm years ago I just liked and then it became all of my newsgroup avatar names. Go figure, anyway...

My bus story begins in the 1990's when at the ripe ol' age of 18, I trained for a CDL and eventually a public bus for PVTA Transit in college. My favorite was an RTS Nova series 6, 40 footer from 1995. It was the best job on campus and I miss it more as I age.

Now, a middle aged dad I still have my CDL and am looking for a bus our family can take on adventures. I love to drive, my wife loves to cook. We were planning to build an outdoor kitchen but this is the answer we can both agree combines our interests.

By trade I am a Covid displaced college art instructor~ I teach sculpture, welding, wood, fabrication and the like. I am also a mechanic on vintage scooters, and engines of all sort. This may come in handy for a very nice mild bus kitchen conversion. Honestly though Id be happy with a bus full of seats and OEM old chewing gum.

Right now I have found the bus of my dreams with the classic Gillig 636 school bus. Common in California and build from the late 50's until 1982 or so. They are just the embodiment of sturdy simplicity I yearn for in my mechanical pursuits. I have been reading that many of these "Californian Gross Polluters" have been scrapped and replaced by more environmentally sound models. It seems like I'm a day late and a dollar short to finding one.