Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-30-2020, 08:03 PM   #1

Out Grown Current Bus

Hello everyone we have currently out grown our current bus because our new two dogs that take up more room than what we are accustomed to.

ATTACH]51542[/ATTACH

The above picture is our 1970 VW Westy Camper. We have owned and enjoyed it for about 14 years now.

I have been thinking of purchasing a shuttle bus next year to use as road trip vehicle, camper and people mover. I am thinking of having limited removable camping furniture that can be replaced with bus seats to fit whatever comes up.

I am a Mechanical Engineer during the week but on weekends I customize cars and trucks from the 60s to 70s. My current project is a 1979 Chevy Stepside with a stroker big block 496. My coolest toy is a 1969 VW Ghia that is about 45 inches tall.

Back to the Shuttle Bus. Is there a conversion better than the others or are they all about the same? Currently I have been browsing Craigslist to see what is available. Due to the beginning of winter I am not quite ready to buy anything yet I am just beginning my exploration.
Attached Thumbnails
20180928_090235.jpg  

AJ III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 08:18 PM   #2
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Believe it or not, there is actually a VW thread on here somewhere, though I would rotate the pic right-side-up.

As for the questions you have, conversion-specific questions will depend on what you need to have with you. I've compiled a bit of a primer that I send new members to help them avoid the typical pitfalls that arise from jumping in feet-first before doing their research. Check your PMs... And welcome.
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2020, 08:29 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC/2000
Engine: 5.9 Cummins 12-valve
Rated Cap: 1