Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-12-2020, 01:29 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Place to build in Northern New Jersey?

Hi Everyone!

I discovered skoolie living about 2 years ago after watching Expedition Happiness on Netflix lol! I've always wanted to travel freely but never knew how until I found skoolie life. Anyway after dreaming about this for a couple years, I am now ready to take the steps to make it a reality, but the first step is finding a place to build.

I'm in my final year of college, still living at home and I have no space to build on our property. I also don't know anyone with extra land. I've been looking at U-HAULs and other storage facilities however they come out to $300+ a month!!! I can't imagine paying that much while trying to simultaneously save money for my build.

I was wondering if any of you know any cheaper alternatives or if you know anyone willing to rent out a spot in their yard for me to do my build. Hoping to start sometime within Spring of 2021. I live in Bergen County NJ so definitely looking for a place within that area so I don't have to travel too far. Also, I'm planning on building a short cutaway skoolie so it won't be *too* much space.

Thanks for taking the time to read and I'm excited to be apart of the community

handtowel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2020, 06:58 PM   #2
Almost There

Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE200
Welcome into the rabbit hole! I will be working on my bus at a friend's in Newburgh NY. If that seems feasible to you, I can ask if he's willing to have a shorty.
Old 11-13-2020, 03:30 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Just looked it up and Newburgh is a little over an hour from me, so it would be too much to travel back and forth. Thanks so much for the offer though and good luck with your build queen!!
Old 11-13-2020, 05:03 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e