Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-03-2020, 09:13 PM   #1

Unhappy Should I do this?

Hello,
I'm totally new to this and although I enjoy camping and have no problem roughing it, I'm kind of apprehensive about actually following through. I'm a senior engineering student living in Portland, OR and have my eye on a bone-stock 1979 Crown Supercoach for sale - Not willing to flex on this, I'm pretty dead set on this type of bus. Should I do this? I have enough money for the bus and that's about it at the moment. I am working and have a full time engineering job lined up after school. I think it would be super cool to live in a bus for a few years but it is actually worth it? I'm kind of a risk-taker/adventure seeker and think it would be a blast, but maybe I need some sense talked into me. Please help, any advice/guidance would be greatly appreciated!

jackkennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2020, 09:32 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas Built
Chassis: Minotour
Engine: Chevy Express 3500 6.6l
Besides the possible big expense of repairs and tires;

Can you afford to store it and insure it?

Doing a conversion takes a bunch of money too.

You’re a student. Are you going to have time to do it?

It’s good you’re reaching out and asking before you go and do it. Shows you’re smart.
Danjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2020, 09:36 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: fs65
Engine: 7.2 catapillar 3126
Rated Cap: 41 students
from the post the words that jump out are "dead set" and "enough $ for the bus and that's it at the moment"

If you read you'll see that buses often experience unexpected issues that require time and $ or you'll have nothing more than a paperweight.