Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2020, 06:33 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Sick of city life. Need advice picking out a bus.

Hi everyone. I'm a graphic designer living in Chicago and I need some nature.

My idea bus would either be a shuttle bus or a mini school bus.
What are your views on gas vs diesel?
How many miles is too many?
What is a realistic price range?

Found a couple buses for $11,000 but I don't know if that is a fair price?

Any help would be great. Starting off is a little overwhelming.:

chadercheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 06:40 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Thomas Built Bus
Chassis: Freightliner FS65
Engine: Caterpillar 3126E Diesel
Rated Cap: 71 Passenger- 30,000 lbs.
Around this site, I think you will find that $11,000.00 should buy you a bus with a complete build-out. That would be the starting cost of "build it your own" anyway.

In a mini or short bus, either gas or diesel will serve well. Both will have comparable fuel mileage. Gas may be more service-friendly in that the engines used are usually very common in automotive uses.
Native is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 06:57 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
first off is "need some nature" meaning you want to live in it to replace your house? or you just want to be able to take off on extended road trips into the middle of nowhere ..

the busd you build and parking ,etc are 2 different animals if its roadtrip vs permanent living.. not to mention you need to think about your design station and internet access on the road.. esp if you go way off the beaten path where cell coverage may die..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 06:59 PM   #4
Mini-Skoolie

Oh so you are saying $11,000 should be the price of the bus AND the conversion?