Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-23-2020, 02:30 PM   #1

Talking Skoolie build on an Alaskan Island, HELP!!

Hullo! So, about a month ago I bought a 1990 Bluebird school bus, 35 ft long and in the center the inside is about 6'2" tall. Fortunately, I bought it from someone who had ideas of converting it too and had taken out all of the seats and started wiring electrical stuff (the previous owner was an electrician by trade).
Being a mom of 4, I want to raise the roof to ideally 9 ft tall so that I can build bunks for my kids' 'rooms'. My problems are thus:
1-I have no idea how to do a roof raise, so I have no starting point, and there isn't anything I can find online that says 'How to do a roof raise, Step 1...' AND
2-Since I live on an island, I don't have access to scrap metal yards so I'm going to have to get creative on getting the materials needed for the roof raise.

I do have family and friends that know how to weld, that's pretty much the only thing I have going for me at this point. I'd feel a LOT better if I could even just get together a Supplies list or a broad To-Do List just to get an idea of which direction to head in.
If anyone could give me some pointers, ideas, words of encouragement, they would be greatly appreciated!

TheMadMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 10:59 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: fs65
Engine: 7.2 catapillar 3126
Rated Cap: 41 students