Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-19-2017, 05:36 PM   #1

Coachwork: No bus yet!
Thumbs up Southeast Noob saying Hello!

I'm a nomadic type, dreamed for years of full-timing a skoolie and I love this place, been reading here forever.

I've been skydiving for 12 years, and spent countless weekends (and a couple of months) in a couple of travel trailers at a couple of dropzones (skydiving businesses).

That's pretty common, people tend haul azz from the job on Friday and spend every possible minute at the DZ, and we buy hand-me-down rigs that have often been at the dropzone longer than we have. Just add another coat of roof sealant, she isn't going anywhere. Quality 5th, safety 3rd.

Rent is cheap if you're jumping, especially since hookups are nothing but a 20-25amp plug if you have enough extension cord. Still better than the tarp I hike with

Now I have a couple of bucks and a fiance who is excited about the endless summer skydiving and boondocking thing. I'm 6'1" and insulation will be crucial so a roof raise is a must, lots of work in our future.

Man you folks have come up with some cool stuff, I can't wait to follow along and contribute a couple of my own tricks. Thanks for this place!

Blue Skies!

JumpinSkoolBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2017, 06:03 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Welcome to the site.

We like to see people get addicted to buses. You sound perfect.

From what I've heard some buses have as much as 6'4", but if you're insulating the floor I can see where you'd still want a roof raise.
Old 12-19-2017, 06:22 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 34
Another welcome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JumpinSkoolBoy View Post