Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-20-2020, 12:10 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Collins
Chassis: Chevrolet Express
Engine: 6.0L Gasoline
Starting my first conversion

Hi everyone! My name is Joe, I'm from New Jersey, and I recently took the plunge and bought a 2003 Collins 6-window handicap cutaway for my first skoolie conversion. I have no experience with anything like this, but I'm excited to learn, and to be a part of such a welcoming community.

Because my options and resources were somewhat limited, I ending up going against the conventional wisdom and buying a bus with a gas engine from someone in North Jersey, which is prime road salt country. The gas engine isn't a huge deal for me, since I'm more comfortable working on it, and I don't really plan on hitting the road full time with this thing. My bus does have a decent amount of rust, BUT most of it doesn't seem to be from road salt, but rather from water pooling behind the rub rails, which I guess weren't properly sealed. I'm still figuring out exactly how to deal with it, but I'm up for the challenge and in general I'm happy with my purchase.

I obviously have many, many questions, but at this point I just wanted to introduce myself. In the future, what's the best way to interact with the community? Should I just post questions as new threads as they come up? Or does it make more sense to create my own thread documenting my build and ask my questions there?

Thanks!

Domino Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 06:53 PM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 2006
Coachwork: International
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 30