Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-18-2020, 11:39 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Summer Skoolie For Summer Vacation

Visa issues are going to make returning the USA this summer no go. Japan is off the menu this year too, so we'll remain here in Vietnam. I've wanted to convert a Coaster to RV since 2010, but Japan taxes & parking regulations makes this unrealistic. So, when I see Coasters converted in Australia & New Zealand...I

A converted Scenicruiser is the dream, but money and using it only over the summer makes a 25' and shorter bus far more realistic. I see that most people here go for newer skoolies...which makes sense, but I'm a History teacher, so I like 1970 and older buses. I've found two transit (rather than school buses) that seriously interest me, but I wonder how many people in the skoolie world know about a lot more short old buses (converted or non converted) for sale.

1938 Yellow Coach Bus Model 733
Trucks & Pickups | Motion Unlimited Museum

Ideally, a Cummins 4BT with Allison 1000/2000 AT (I refuse to shift). Realistically and faster, a Vortec 4200 I6 gasoline engine out of a Trailblazer. The original engine had less than 100hp while the Vortec 4200 can be tuned to 280hp.

1941 Yellow Coach Model 2706
https://www.busesforsale.com/bus/5693-1941Yellow2706

Ford engine in the rear with manual transmission. Ideally, a Cummins 6BT, but I don't know for certain if the Allison HT740 will work in this configuration. Has anyone ever converted a rear transverse engine bus to AT?

I have so much to research and learn. Since I won't be able to have my paperwork renewed here in Vietnam in time to return to the US for summer, I have time. Plus, Covid-19 is far more under control here than in the US making it safer to remain here than visit family in the US this summer.

Hiura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2020, 11:04 AM   #2
Skoolie

Year: 63&5