Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-04-2015, 09:41 PM   #1

texasjordan

Looking for advice on school bus purchase for a conversion. I want lots of length, best headroom, best engine, etc. I have been researching for about 2 months and have my own opinion, like Cummings over Cat. I really like the Blue Bird All American for the extra under carriage storage and power. Any thoughts from you more experienced Skoolies? I am new and just read the trials and tribulations of the build and journey around the country of the young man from Maryland. Better read than most books. I am planning a build and a trip myself. I like the idea of the kid Hank of Hank bought a bus of having as much visual space above the windows as possible to keep the bus as non-clostrophobic as possible. Any advice would be appreciate. I am enjoying the site immensely so far.

TexasJordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 12:14 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Welcome

Best place to start is the build thread section. There you will find some amazing conversions full of idea's. Some become life stories full of adventure and experience on both the build and using the bus.

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f3/

I would start with the builds over 20 pages long. That will get you into the serious builds and passed the ones that barely get started before getting scrapped or sold.

Happy reading.

Nat

Patently waiting for the apocalypses to level the playing field in this physiological game of life commonly known as Civilization
nat_ster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 09:36 AM   #3

texasjordan

Thanks Nat,