Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-20-2020, 01:21 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: Caterpillar 3126B
Rated Cap: 66
The beginning of a long ride...

Hey folks, I'm Tim, I'm from southern Indiana where I own a coffee roasting company, play music, build stuff, and fix most of the things I break. My wife and I are just beginning this Skoolie journey. I've wanted to have some type of road-ready home for a while, for shorter jaunts. But now my wife (gawd, I love her) is totally on-board with the idea and wants to go full-blown, off-grid, rolling home that we can live in, now that the kids are adults and I'll be retiring in a few years.

So, yeah, I'm very new to all of this. I have a thousand questions. I get sort of obsessive and analytical about whatever has my current interest. I'll buy all the books, watch al the videos, and listen to you kind people and learn.

We went and looked at some busses yesterday (with friends who are also looking to do the same) to get a feel for what we want. I'm not too concerned about budget at this point, as the cost is manageable, we already have tools (oh, so many tools) and we've done a few small build projects, including building a cottage/studio, a motorcycle garage, and refurbed a framed-in barn into a recording studio.

I've framed our needs this way: We need a bus that we can park on our property, which means backing down a 300' gravel drive from a 20' wide road. It looks like my longest wheelbase will be around 218" to make this work. That sets our upper limit. Next, we need to develop a floorplan that will include what we think is absolutely essential. That will give us our lower limit. I'm aiming for a 7-10 window bus, if the wheelbase is short enough, but I know so little at this point. That's my intro, thanks!

CoffeeGuy is offline   Reply With Quote