Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-22-2016, 03:41 PM   #1

Talking To-be bus owners lost in buslandia

Hey all! My partner and I have been doing our research on buses for a couple of months now. We plan on buying a short bus this summer and getting it winter ready by well,... winter :] Here's what we have i mind:

Bluebird 7.3L diesel short bus (27-30 passenger) anywhere from 1999-2003 model

Ideally, we want to gut it, lay down the floor and frame a bed and wood burning stove between the end of June-August. Doable?

We also are going to install solar to run minimal electricity and a fridge.

We've talked about installing a gray water tank as well as a water tank for a shower but aren't sure if that is a task we can take on (not knowing exactly how extensive the work to make that happen really is). I have friends that weld but i'm not sure how much work they are willing to do without compensation (besides beer and dinner for a lifetime) Honestly, we can live without a shower but my partner is hellbent on a sauna.. anyway. It wold be nice to have SOME running water...

I guess what I am looking for right now from those of you experienced in bus conversion are the following things:

1) What to look for in regard to common issues with this particular kind of bus while shopping for a bus (1999-2003 bluebird 7.3L diesel short bus)

2) Tips for initial gutting of the bus (tools needed and such)

3) Is insulating a good idea? (we plan on making this our primary mobile residence for the winter & will be in cold and snowy areas in the Rockies ski touring, with wood burning stove)

4) Links to forum threads on installation of a bed and storage etc...

And anything else you could throw in! I'm still learning how to navigate this site but i'm sure I will find all of my answers eventually.

Any help is greatly appreciate!!!

Best,
Erica

lunamunn is offline   Reply With Quote