Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2021, 03:20 PM   #1

Tons of Questions???

My wife and I are seriously thinking about jumping into the deep end of this pool...

My wife has been working remotely for about a year now, and I'm a truck driver. We are in our early 50's and are contemplating our later years and we both love to travel. my biggest concern is income. i understand that my wife's income would be steady, but i really couldn't drive truck from place to place. We have always been a 2 income household and was thinking that i could pack hand tools and make wood crafts and sell as a side income. I guess my question is, how much cheaper are living expenses compared to living in a home/apartment? how are people making a living?

Thanks in advance for any and all comments
Irish Mike Scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 03:38 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
Good questions, and not something I can answer myself from experience, but there are YouTubers who do different things to support their nomadic lifestyle (though they do mention caveats and some have had to give it up)...

There are other questions that should be answered as well, selecting a bus, etc... Most of which can be answered in the threads linked in my sig... Good luck, and welcome to the community!

"CHEESE WAGON" <anomaly.va@gmail.com> Suggested reading: (5 threads)
CHEESE_WAGON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 04:26 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
travel and income

Boats.... marina to marina, lake to lake, boat docks, sewing, hull scraping, painting, repairs etc....

earn a good reputation for really good work and you will never be out of an income. Word gets around you will be arriving and people will be lined up for waiting for you to arrive.