Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-19-2016, 05:29 PM   #1

Total Newbie...help!

This may be a silly question, but what is the best engine and drivetrain configuration? I know that is subjective, but surely there are ratings that might favor the 7.3L over the 6.4L...or Cat vs. Cummins...or the Allison tranny vs. whatever.

Also, does brand and/or model matter in terms of the "bones" of the rig? For instance, does the Thomas FS65 rust out in a heartbeat whereas the International 3800 could live in the ocean?

On a related note, is there a model that is "better" for conversion? I hear that some models really don't have much space underneath to mount fresh, gray, and black water holding tanks; whereas another model might be ideal for that???

I'm sure many of you have your faves, and since I haven't bought a Skoolie yet I'd like to learn what I should really be keeping my eye on.

Also, I registered on GovDeals but it seems too good to be true, so I'm guessing it probably is...am I missing something?

I've got a million more questions I'm sure, and just scanning through some of the threads it seems I've come to the right place to get an education...so please steer me straight! Thanks

-Erik

espurgin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2016, 06:42 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1984
Engine: 366 Big block Chevy! :) w/ Stick shift
Nope, govdeals is good and true. Lots of people bus busses there.

The right bus for me is the one i fall/ fell in love with.
Some rust, some scrapes and bruises, dings and dents, plusses and minuses, and i love her just the same.
Carytowncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2016, 06:49 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I agree on te rigt bus being the one you like and makes you smile...