Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2018, 05:03 PM   #1
Scared to Post

Uncertain Buyer

I know next to nothing about engines or any of the mechanical aspects of ownership, but I do know that I really would like to own a school bus.

Father of 3 young kids who would love to get the whole family out and road tripping.

I am looking at a purchasing this vehicle (https://truckcentercompanies.com/gt/...onal-3000-3000). The link looks to be from a previous transaction. I am looking to buy off of a Craigslist seller. 1996 International 3000 53 passenger 444E Auto 4 Speed Allison 225k miles. I am not sure I even know what I just typed.

I am concerned about maintenance costs and how many hours/miles are left in the bus I am looking at. Also, any feedback you could provide on if its a good value or not at $3.5k.

I am a commercial roofer who knows a thing or two about waterproofing, so please lob any waterproofing concerns at me and I will take a stab at answering as a reciprocation.

Thanks in advance.

Look forward to sharing information.

Dahook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 10:18 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1954
Coachwork: wayne
Chassis: old f500- new 2005 f-450
Engine: cummins 12 valve
Rated Cap: 20? five rows of 4?
dig in

Read more about licensing, insurance, and defeats......... kind of sink into it all... then think a while about it, roll it over in your head. spend a month getting into it, then ask again. you will have a better idea for your self.

would help us out here sometimes to let us know where you are operating from, some here can give more guidance than I.

william
magnakansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 11:23 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahook View Post