Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2019, 09:10 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 2004
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE200
Engine: T444e
Weight & Gas Mileage Recommendations

Hello - I'm just getting started with a 2006 IC CE 40' DT466. As I'm planning on the inside design and looking at things like water tanks, a fridge, a washer/dryer combo, a range, etc., I'm wondering what impact all this weight will have on mileage. Tried searching the web and just get a 2% decrease per 100lbs. But I'm sure that doesn't apply to a bus the way it applies to a car.

Has anyone done any research into the impact of weight on mileage? I figured that a 40 gallon cold water tank and a 16-gallon hot water tank alone is adding 500 pounds. So I know weight will add up quickly.

Thanks!

cofrari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 09:48 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Welcome,

Weight will definitely affect your fuel economy. I think the 2% per 100lbs is overstated.

Not an exact comparison but to give you some idea:

My Eagle 10 got a pretty consistent 7.5-8mpg gutted and empty. I added about 6000 lbs including full fresh water tank (200gallons). Fully loaded I got a consistent 7-7.25mpg. If the 2% statement were correct, my mileage would have been reduced by 120%

I don't have a lot of history on my Bluebird yet but I can tell you that two trips between Granite Falls and Dayton, One empty and the second fully loaded with all of my household stuff, I did not see a significant difference in fuel consumption.

Good luck.

S.
PNW_Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 10:31 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Coachwork: Winnebago
Chassis: Ford F53
Engine: Ford Triton V-10
Rated Cap: currently 2