Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-27-2022, 09:29 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Assistance needed, not charity

Good morning (or whatever time it is when you read this) friend.

Let me begin by stating I'm not looking for charity, I'm asking for a hand up to help me get back to living a normal life in retirement.

What happened?
I'm nearly flat broke because I caught Covid 3 freaking times teaching. I'm a middle school teacher and had to file bankruptcy because of the medical bills and loss of pay. Things went downhill fast after that and Florida is a very expensive state to live in. Bankruptcy wasn't a choice, it was the last option and we took it.

The courts took the savings and made us sell everything of value to satisfy the bankruptcy - which hurt, but, it was fair to the creditors. I didn't want to cheat anyone. Life happened and I'm not complaining. But, it put us at step one starting all over again. Right now, I'll have to work until I drop dead unless I have an alternate plan.
I was already wanting a schoolie for a retirement home so I could visit the kids and grandkids all over the country. It wasn't meant to be a permanent home but it is now thanks to Covid. Hey, I survived catching Covid three times! I'm not going to complain. I'm alive and got my health with no side effects (I hope).

Owning a schoolie is the only real choice for me and the wife if we want an affordable home during retirement. I need to get out of the classroom and plan to teach online during retirement. I'm ready to retire now because I'm 63 and don't want to risk another illness that may take my life. Plus I don't want my kids financially taking care of me and the wife. Nobody wants their kids to have that burden. A schoolie solves all of that.