Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-02-2007, 01:37 PM   #1
Bus Nut

bus dimensions?

Since we are trying to make a decision on what size of bus we should by was i looking for dimensions.
Would it be possible for somebody of maybe posting the different Buses with their actual inside (usable space) dimensions?
what is the inside dimension for a 54 passenger? What other sizes do they come in?
You can tell I am new to buses.
I was looking through some floorplans,however on most of them there is no dimensions given, the pictures are nice but measurements would even make it better.

swinada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 02:28 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC-2000 Frt Eng, Tranny:MT643
Engine: 5,9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 84
Just some quick first thoughts off the top of my head...

...after... Hey, welcome aboard!

School buses have been built for as many as 97 passengers (abbreviated "pax").
But that's counting children, at six kids per row -- three on each seat. And the maximum
length is 40 feet bumper to bumper.

A 40 foot flat nose bus with the engine either in front or in back will carry around 84 kids.
84:6=14 rows. My bus has the engine up front, next to the driver, and this
driver/engine/stairwell area takes up about 5 feet. So I have 35 feet usable
space. 14 rows = 35 feet. That comes out 30" per row -- and I just measured
it to a tad under 29. So this is ballpark.

Also, the windows tend to match the seats -- somewhat. So once you get familiar
with these silly things, you can learn to eyeball the length of a bus by counting
windows.

54 pax? 54 : 6 = 9 rows. 9 x 2.5 feet = 22.5 feet. Very roughly. Probably a bit less,
as a practical matter.

That get you started? Others will chime in with more precise information soon.
Keep asking. And search and read -- most things have already been discussed
somewhere around here.