Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2022, 03:43 PM   #21
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2002
Chassis: Thomas Saf-T-Liner
Engine: CAT 3126 / MD3060
I really appreciate all the help on this. I'll update more when I can get back out to the bus.

bb12489 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2022, 04:00 PM   #22
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: AmTran (Now Navistar)
Engine: DT444E (7.3L) International
Rated Cap: 31,800 pounds
Quote:
Originally Posted by ewo1 View Post
How about trying something really old school... jumper cables!

Good, large gauge, quality jumper cables! Not the el cheapos you'll generall find at WalMart. Though anything is better than nothing.

I have been using the same set since 1992. They were military surplus and are HUGE gauge intended to be used for starting anything in the Marine Corps inventory at that time including tanks. They're basically welding cables with battery post clamps on the ends. The military changed over to a "NATO" cable with polarized plugs on the end to reduce damage and injuries from improper use of the cables. I love them because I could pull up to a car with only access to the rear end and those cables would reach the front and deliver every bit of available power to the dead battery.

They don't get loaned out, they are kept in a lock box, and while I may need to change the terminal clamps one day, they ROCK
We've done so much, for so long, with so little, we now do the impossible, overnight, with nothing. US Marines -- 6531, 3521. . . .Ret ASE brakes & elect. Ret (auto and aviation mech). Extra Class HAM, NAUI/PADI OpenWater diver
HamSkoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2022, 03:38 PM   #23
Mini-Skoolie

So I checked the voltage on both batteries. Battery 1 is 12.40v and battery 2 is 12.48v. I connected them back up so I could pull any codes from the shift panel.

it read out code D1 35 00