Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2007, 11:55 AM   #1

Finally have a bus! '89 E350 wheelchair shorty

Hi Skoolies, I have been thinking about getting a short bus for a while now, in no small part inspired by the Jacuzzi bus when I met Jason a couple years ago and later traveled to South Padre Island.

Picked up an '89 Ford E350 7.3l with 115,000 kms on it. Has a wheelchair transport box on the back, with big door and lift. Even had a wheelchair included along with 4 bench seats. Plan is to convert to camper suitable for an extended road trip (months+).

I'm just starting out... first thing is to get the safety inspection done on it. Bought at auction, I didn't realise it was being sold unfit - I cannot just get insurance and a trip permit and drive to the shop - it has to be towed everywhere. This is a huge PITA and the first of many challenges that will come up.

It has been towed to a shop for inspection... their hoists were not beefy enough to lift it and they were unable to complete. They did say it needs new brake lines, steering box (and probably steering lines), and fuel leak in line near tranny. Towed back to my buddy's place and here we are.

Is there anyone with connections in the Barrie, Ontario area? I'm looking for mechanic assistance, parts, and / or garage to perform an inspection.

My current TODO list:

Safety Inspection
- replace brake lines
- replace ? steering box
- replace fuel line

Deal with Rust - Rust bullet looks like the best option

Convert to burn veggie oil

Add "house" electric to back - 12 VDC and maybe 120VAC. Would like to implement solar charging as well as from alternator. There is an existing panel and switch that control aisle lights and the like.

Convert interior - Add bed, change seating, storage. Complete this once WVO and electric are done to see what space they need (if any)