Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-29-2020, 12:31 PM   #1
Bus Nut

Year: 2004
Coachwork: IC
Chassis: CE200
Engine: T444e
Rated Cap: 27,500
Getting close to buying

I've been hanging around here for a couple years now. I've been thinking, reading, learning, fretting - and watching more videos about skoolies and skoolie life than I care to admit. I've made decisions about what I THINK I want to buy and I'm close to making a purchase. I want to run through my thought process here and see what those of you with experience in the life have to say. I've been here long enough to know some of you can get pretty salty and I don't care. If you feel the need to call me an idiot have at it, by necessity I've had to make assumptions about stuff until I can learn about it first hand and maybe some (or all) my assumptions are wrong.

Who am I:
I'm retired. I'm alone. I have sufficient retirement income that I can buy and build then live full time on the road. Will I like the lifestyle, don't know, won't know till I try it. Looking at it from my perspective (no experience) I don't see me in a campground. The last thing I want is to be right beside someone else's rig.

What I think I should buy:
I THINK I'll be pulling a trailer, up to 24', max. weight 10,000 lb. or less. This fact has me leaning toward a short bus. I also would like be able to drop the trailer somewhere to spend time exploring some of the easier of the desert areas of the west so ground clearance is a factor but I KNOW I won't be doing any serious off road stuff, that said I know I have to be prepared to dig myself out so no pushers.

The build: