Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-07-2018, 02:44 PM   #1

Year: 2005
Coachwork: Ford
Engine: Ford V10 Triton
Got 2 Buses. Now What?

Hello All. I am a newbie and still working my way around this wonderful site. I understand that this site is mostly intended for Skoolies but I do notice that there are shuttle bus conversions as well.

Here's my dilemma. I bought 2 shuttle (Metro) buses at a county auction. Both are in good running condition. As a matter of fact, we drove them 1,500 miles from the auction place to our home in Southern California with no issues.

Bus 1 - 2003 E-450 6.8L Triton V10 Gas (Longer with wheelchair lift towards the back)
Bus 2 - 2004 E-450 6.0L Diesel (Shorter with wheelchair lift towards the front)

Both have over 300K miles. I heard that that 6.0 Powerstroke Diesel is quite problematic but since the mileage is up there and I am assuming that the county takes good care of their fleet that they may have fixed the issues (???).

I am debating whether to keep 1 or sell both. If I can keep one, which one should I keep? I don't intend to put a lot of mileage on the conversion since I have a full time job and can only take long vacations maybe 2 times a year. We love to do road trips and visit national parks and such.

Thank you in advance for any input or advise that the community may have.
Attached Thumbnails
imagejpeg_0_2.jpg   imagejpeg_1.jpg   00K0K_2DRhmVJ04F7_1200x900.jpg   00x0x_11blM9gQNab_1200x900.jpg  

webscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 07:23 PM   #2
Skoolie

You did 1500 miles in each with no problems, sounds like you did good no matter what you decide to do with them. I’m a diesel fan myself but the 6.0 doesn’t exactly inspire confidence. The V10 is a good motor, decent power and MPG for a gas motor. Good luck with whatever you decide.
RRRVBUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 07:37 PM   #3
Bus Nut