Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-21-2021, 01:40 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2018
Coachwork: Lion Electric
Chassis: Spartan
Engine: Dana TM4 SUMO MD
Rated Cap: 71
How much more expensive are 2007 and newer buses to own and maintain?

Hi, noob here. I’ve been lurking and researching and understand that the general recommendation is to look for 2006 and earlier buses, due to the emissions requirements (DPF/DEF fluid) from 2007 on. Since we are also looking for one in the best condition with lowest miles, I’m wondering how much more complicated and expensive a more recent model would be? If the idea that cleaner emissions is better for everyone, (as we all breathe the same air), might it be a cost worth consideration? Anybody with a later model care to chime in? TIA.

Dusbriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 01:45 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusbriver View Post
Hi, noob here. I’ve been lurking and researching and understand that the general recommendation is to look for 2006 and earlier buses, due to the emissions requirements (DPF/DEF fluid) from 2007 on. Since we are also looking for one in the best condition with lowest miles, I’m wondering how much more complicated and expensive a more recent model would be? If the idea that cleaner emissions is better for everyone, (as we all breathe the same air), might it be a cost worth consideration? Anybody with a later model care to chime in? TIA.
After spending an evening with the manager of the local Navistar repair shop I'd be inclined to avoid any emissions era diesel. Its not just the added complexity- the quality of manufacturing just isn't good.
Buses are a perfect example of "they sure don't build em like they used to".
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 02:23 PM   #3