Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2007, 05:02 PM   #1

Year: 1995
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: 3800
Engine: DT408, AT545
Rated Cap: 23 500 gvw
I drained my rear air tank today. Yuk!

This black stuff came out. I thought no big deal, but I put my finger in it and it felt like oil. So I smelled it and it smelled like oil. So finally I tasted it and it tasted like oil. So I figure it must be oil. Right? Now the question is. Is it likely my compressor is leaking and putting oil in my brake lines? How serious is this?

You Gotta Let Me Fly
crazycal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 12:00 PM   #2

A truck parts place is probably the cheapest. You might look online.

You Gotta Let Me Fly
Old 03-14-2007, 04:09 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Quote:
Is it likely my compressor is leaking and putting oil in my brake lines? How serious is this?
I'm no expert, but I did sleep at a Holiday Inn Express last night....

Most air compressors draw their lubricating oil off the crankcase, this lubricating oil invariably gets into the compressed air line and condenses somewhere along the line... This, in my opinion, isn't a great cause for alarm, well, depending on the amount of oil you're talking about. Just like the brake fluid in a hydraulic brake system, that oil that you've discovered, doesn't actually get in contact with the actual brake...

That's the way I figure it... But check with someone who is a little more experienced with air brakes... Like a mechanic...
oldog12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 06:06 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: TC-2000 Frt Eng, Tranny:MT643
Engine: 5,9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 84
The compressor will always pick up a little bit of oil and send it into the air tanks. If the
tanks have not been drained properly, REGULARLY, you might get quite an oil bath,
yes. Lots of water too.