Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-02-2018, 02:53 PM   #1

Year: 1998
Engine: V8
Lightbulb Inspections?

Hello!

My bad if this has been discussed multiple times before, however I checked for threads that were relevant but couldn't find any that answered my questions....

I just put the first down-payment on my Skoolie and will be picking it up by the end of August (this month) beginning of September (next month) so I'm a total noobie and please go easy on me if this seems like a stupid set of questions!!

I live in the New England area and still have almost everything (car, and license) registered in NH because I travel between homes up there and MA a lot. (Purchasing the Bus itself from CT, about 2-3 hours away.) My friends who live in MA will be giving me a space to convert the bus itself but I need to be able to drive it there.

My questions are mainly about getting the Bus inspected and legal to drive.

1.) If an inspection is required, how long do I have after purchase?

2.) Anyone have suggestions on where I go to get an inspection on a Bus? I checked a few websites for trucks and RVs but none of them mentioned Buses...

3.) Will regular temporary plates work for driving it from CT to NH? ( My father happens to be a truck driver and has a CDL license. An A license not an S but I think we can swing that if we were pulled over... Honest "mistake." ;) )

4.) Is an inspection required to register the Skoolie?? (I looked on the NH DMV website and they mentioned NOTHING.)

Any information, even links to different past threads, is extremely helpful. I'm not made of money and am trying to do this as easily but inexpensively as possible. If you have suggestions on shops that do really good work and aren't hella picky on details for stickers, let me know those too.

Thanks!

Thedinosaurmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 05:07 PM   #2
Bus Geek