Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-17-2022, 03:23 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Newbie hello and sadness

Hello, newbie here and I put a deposit on a bus to pick up this weekend and now I’m emotionally torn and need to tell someone.

It’s a 93 international, I searched for over a year for a mechanical 466. I called the local dealer to order some maintenance parts and based off the vin they say it’s a dt360, and although that’s a good engine, it saddens me. It seems near impossible to find a mechanical 466.

My reason for a bus isn’t the norm I assume. I’ve looked at early dodges or 12v swaps, military trucks, and now buses. I wanted a mechanical engine for the arsenal in case I need to make my own bio diesel, my modern common rail is a lot more finicky. So for that aspect I suppose this bus will work, just a big deflation from a 466.

I’m also considering ordering one of the few remaining mt643 to upgrade some but the whole dt360 has taken the wind out of my sails. Anyone here can cheer me up?

IndianaSchoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2022, 03:38 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I been rockin a DT360 all over the country for 6 years now!! no wind outta my sails!! I did ditch the crappy AT545 when it blew up and put on a MT643.. i dont drive a bus because i want speed.. i drive a bus because i want to enjoy the trip.. I lived the road trip life of 80 MPH drives that went like a blurr for years..

I dont miss those days at all.. I drive my bus slower.. biut she will run 68 when I ask her to.. the only time its a little sluggish is when i have both A/C compressors on.. (the bus was built without A/C and I added it so thats not the engines fault)..