Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2017, 06:12 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Question Roof-raising costs

How much does it typically cost to get the roof raised on a school bus so that it's a height that makes sense for adults to walk around inside?

I'm not planning to do the work myself; a chronic illness makes it hard for me to do a lot of physical stuff even if I had the skills (don't ask how I work as a massage therapist that way... it's a different type of physical that can mostly be done from a stool, and I stick to part time, is the quick answer). So I'll need to hire someone to do the work, but right now I'm looking at the choices between more expensive transit or coach buses, and cheaper school buses but which would need the roof lifted, and trying to balance out HOW MUCH more expensive a coach has to get before the school bus is the better deal.

Thank you!

PocketNaomi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 06:22 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Crown by Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: 230 HP DT 466e/MT 643!
Rated Cap: 16
Ideally, you find a bus that already has a tall roof! ours is 78 inches (came that way from the factory), and even my tall brother-in-law doesn't get close to hitting his head...

John
johnbloem1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 06:36 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Theres a place that does roof raises, but they charge TEN GRAND, and to me that's just crazy money for something that essentially takes a couple weekends.
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 08:38 PM   #4
Almost There

Year: 1989
Coachwork: Carpenter (Cavalier)
Chassis: International Harvester
Engine: DTA360
Rated Cap: 63
Hat channel. $420
Farm jacks. $320
Jack guides $100
Tack welding. $300

Total. $1140