Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-16-2024, 10:16 PM   #1

safety features

Hi Folks,
Newbie here. Well, I donít have a bus yet. Concerned about safety features. I seen ones with a driverís airbag, but wondered if newer models (say 2015 and later) have things like cruise control, warning sound when someone is in your blind spot, automatic braking to prevent collisions? If they donít have these features, can they be added and has anyone done that? TIA

Theashmea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2024, 01:29 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird Mini-Bird 24'
Chassis: Chevy P30
Engine: Chevy 6.2L Diesel
Anything can be added if you're creative and willing to spend the money.

Blind-spot detection is a big ask, but that's what those mirrors are for.

Cruise control is much easier to get done, adaptive cruise control is probably much more of a "big ask", though.

Airbags are kind of a waste, though, as a properly-built skoolie is going to weigh so much that it will go through anything you're about to hit--unless you're getting hit in such a way that it wouldn't really matter, like from the side or the like. Also it's not like in a car where you've got enough space around the driver to mount them in all the right places. That's just all physics and basic engineering.
Albatross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2024, 06:55 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
electronics my fun thing to do... I have all those fun features on both of my cars..

can you add them to a bus?
airbag.. in a van cutaway yes you'll have one.. some of the newest busses like the latest C2 and IC have them.. but you dont really want busses that new...