Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-12-2020, 11:36 AM   #1

Skoolie party of 1 (and 2 cats)

Hi guys! Brand new to Skoolies!

I’m a medical student and I can’t think of a better way to travel to all my clinical rotations ...especially with my two cats in tow, then with a skoolie! We move sites every 12 weeks or so and uprooting my little furry children every 12 weeks would just be a nightmare. Plus finding temporary housing for all of us is not going to happen. Has anyone traveled with cats?

Now, keeping the litter box in mind — what size / make / engine would you recommend?

I was thinking a full sized bus. And I’d rather have a nice big bathroom (with a tub) than a full kitchen anyway. There’s no time to eat in medical school.

I’m hoping to secure clinical rotations in NY, Pennsylvania, Georgia, and possibly Seattle. So therell be a lot of driving.

Also, I’ll be gone much of the day — how do you secure your buses? What’s your best window and door locks? My goal is to find a few alumni from my school scattered around and see if they’ll let me park in their yard. But I’m a woman traveling alone in America and statistically bad things happen to those people.

So I’m looking for advice on

1. bus sizes to fit me and cats and litter boxes (dog nose? Flat nose?)

2. Locks

RizGoose18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 12:21 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International RE
Engine: International T444e
Rated Cap: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by RizGoose18 View Post
I’m a medical student and I can’t think of a better way to travel to all my clinical rotations ...especially with my two cats in tow, then with a skoolie! We move sites every 12 weeks or so and uprooting my little furry children every 12 weeks would just be a nightmare. Plus finding temporary housing for all of us is not going to happen. Has anyone traveled with cats?