Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-29-2021, 07:36 PM   #1

Year: 2007
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf-T Liner HDX
Engine: MBE 906
Rated Cap: 71
Thoughts on an '07 Thomas?

Hello,

I've been doing research on this forum and elsewhere for a couple years now and it is time to buy a bus. I've been scouring the internet for what we're looking for nearby and I think I may have found it and want to run it by people who have done this before.

I'm looking at an '07 Thomas RE with an MBE 906 paired with an Allison 2500 (I think). 6'7" ceiling and 71 passengers. The seller on FB says they got 6 of them recently and the miles vary between 100k-140k. From the pictures the exterior looks to be rust free. Air brakes and air seat. They are asking $4,500, which seems too good to be true today.

Everything seems to be perfect EXCEPT for the MBE 906, but I've read that they seem to be okay if taken care of and, if we do go this route, I'll try to save money for a repower when it decides to be done.

Sadly it is a 5 hour drive away, so we can't just go look at it this weekend and come back to you all with more questions.
Seems too good to be true...any thoughts?

unixuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 10:40 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Chassis: Freightliner
Engine: C7 Cat
Hello and welcome
I drove 7 hours each way and crossed an international border to view my auction bus before bidding. It’s a small price to pay for some piece of mind.
I have no personal experience with the Mercedes engine but there are definitely two camps on them so you will get some differing opinion. I did look at one here in Canada that had over 500,000 km and seemed to be still doing well.
Good luck

Oscar
Oscar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2021, 11:25 PM   #3
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None