Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-29-2017, 05:09 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Chevy
Chassis: Ward?
Engine: 8.2 liter ?
Rated Cap: 24 Passenger
Visitor parking

So... I feel silly asking. I have never driven a bus somewhere and parked while I see the sites. It's not even that big a bus (6 window). But I have no experience. Not talking overnight. Just a few hours here and there visiting the sites.

I can take a couple of spaces in a large parking lot but what about when we want to visit tourist spots. Do you always find places to park or can it be difficult? How about getting in somewhere where you can't turn around?

Specifically I'd like to visit the capitol grounds in DC. I know of auto parking but have never looked for places to park a bus. Is it difficult to find a place to park?

Also... do you ever worry about leaving your bus. So much invested time and money. Am I paranoid or are they really out to get me? LOL

Four weeks to finish conversion enough for first road trip!

Thank you!

Ross

rossfree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 07:01 AM   #2
Almost There

Year: 1998
Chassis: ford e350
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke
When visiting DC stay away from sensitive sites like the capitol. They are always afraid of terrorism and such.
I have a 5 window and my last trip to Atlanta where i worked for the airline in town security came asking what that suspicious bus was in the visitor parking lot.
This slightly besides the "normal" accepted lifestyle draws a lot of attention. Mostly good from people on the road who give you the thumbs up nut also "bad" from the officials.

I got stopped several times by rangers and cops who were very curious.
Nothing bad or nasty , just be prepared.

Later J
Elfie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 08:50 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: B3800 Short bus
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 36