Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-31-2021, 10:05 AM   #1
Scared to Post

Post What do you think of this deal?

Hello everyone,

I just found this forum and so far it's been a great resource for me. I'm just starting out on my skoolie project and I'm in the research and bus hunting phase.

I'm looking for some feedback on this craigslist ad. What are your first thoughts? Do you find it worth it to try to get an old bus running or would you buy one that already runs? I know there is no right or wrong answer - I just want to hear what others have to say about it!

I'm interested in the two smaller buses.

https://vermont.craigslist.org/pts/d...366691295.html

Thanks for your time!

jcbodwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2021, 03:07 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Don't know enough about the E350's to know how much different they are 6 years apart. New tranny in one may make the deal worth it depending on what they need, which we have no idea. Personally I'd rather start with something I can drive without issues, before the major work of a conversion on top of that.
If they are local to you in N.H. I would not even waste my time looking at buses rusting away in a field.
Old 09-01-2021, 12:52 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 2000
Coachwork: IC / Amtran
Chassis: 3000 / 33' Flat Nose
Engine: IC T444E / Allison MT643
Rated Cap: 72 Kids / 48 Adults
Most of your cost in dealing with a bus that's not running will be paying a mechanic, and depending on how expensive the parts are.

So, if you're a good mechanic that knows what you're doing, including rebuilding motors and transmissions, or at least uninstalling and reinstalling new/rebuilt ones, then you might find yourself a sweet deal with a non-running vehicle. Of course, you also have to first get it to wherever you are going to work on it, so, hopefully you have a tow truck too.