Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-07-2021, 09:59 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Where's My Bus?

As I've said elsewhere, I'm just getting into this and trying to get through the firehose of information.

I'm trying to figure out where to go to get my bus. I live in Des Moines, Iowa, so I'm pretty sure I'm not buying local - we use salt on the roads here. In fact, in a couple of the winters since I arrived the county ran out of salt and Tone's Spices donated a few tons of garlic salt. Made the town smell like a pizza.

So, I'm probably going to have to travel to where they don't use road salt if I want a bus that isn't rusted out. I've also heard not to buy in Florida.

My question is: where am I going to have to go to get my bus?

Thanks.

Silverwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2021, 10:17 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1999
Coachwork: BlueBird
Chassis: TC1000 HandyBus
Engine: 5.9L 24V-L6 Cummins ISB
Rated Cap: 26 foot
got mine in AZ. No salt, less than a nickle (5¢) size patch of rust, spread out in two places. Rubber hoses needed replacement (heat), but on a 20 year old vehicle, I want to do that anyway.
Old 03-07-2021, 03:29 PM   #3
Traveling

Year: None
Coachwork: None
Chassis: None
Engine: None
Rated Cap: None
You mostly want to look at southern buses. Simplistic method, draw a line across a US map from the VA/NC border from east coast to west coast and focus south of that line. There are a few states north of that imaginary line that use sand instead of salt, I am not sure which. Higher elevations also get a lot of snow, so certain parts of CA / NV / NM / AZ / TN will potentially yield rusty buses. Church, prison and activity buses could still be okay from these areas.

Some rust is not a big deal. Obviously the less, the better, but the less rust, the more you're likely to pay, too. There are over 100 near me that might be suitable, and all reasonably priced.