Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-06-2020, 09:41 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Engine: RE Cummins 8.3
Question Which is more valuable: a Rear Engine motor or a Cummins Engine?

My husband and I have been shopping for a school bus for a couple of months now (scouring online auctions, private sellers, social media marketplaces, etc.). Our ideal bus is 35-37 ft long, with a 6'4" or 6'5" ceiling height (my husband is 6'2"), rear Cummins engine, pre-2007, and little rust. We have found that this kind of bus (a rear Engine Cummins) is a unicorn, and whenever something like it does come up for sale, it is far out of our price range. So, we know they exist. We see them. But, we can't afford them. We are finding that we can either find a front engine Cummins, or a rear engine Cat motor. We are currently full time vanlifers, and our van has been all over the country, struggling up hills. We noticed when test driving a front engine 5.9 Cummins 24 valve bus that it, too, struggled up hills, very similar to the way the van does.

We know having a pusher would help with this, and we would prefer that. But, we also know that we want a Cummins engine, being more affordable to work on in the long run, and so reliable (we would also prefer a 12 valve Cummins, but are open to other Cummins engines, as well). We don't know which option we should prioritize.

So, those of you who either own a rear engine Cat bus or a front engine Cummins bus: Which do you recommend we prioritize? It seems unlikely we will be able to have a rear engine Cummins in our price range. So, have you found that it is more valuable in the long run to have a Cummins engine (up front) or a rear engine bus (Cat)? Thank you!!! =)

shelbyfricke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 10:17 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Blue bird
Chassis: All American RE
Engine: 8.3L Cummins 6CTA
Rated Cap: 84