Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-16-2006, 06:03 PM   #1

Yet another new menber checking in!

I have been lurking for several months, just getting the feel for the board. I built a schoolie in San Diego in 198x and enjoyed it in the desert. Lost all the photos in the divorce and move to the East. It was a Dodge Superior, raised roof with a slant 6. I swapped a 413 and a loadflight into it from a burned motorhome, and added a cab-over out to the front bumper for the bedroom. Lots more stuff, but will post that in the appropriate thread. I am a tech, and have been a motor home repairman in another life. Getting ready to retire now, and the wanderlust has attacked again.

I hope this won't disquallify me, I have bought a very old Bluebird Wanderlodge which needs a complete makeover. I know there are forums for those vehicles, but I am not restoring it, I am going to make it work for my purpose, with available low cost parts. I joined a Wanderlodge forum and when it bacame obvious that I was not doing a factory restore, the group cooled in a hurry. The first thing that upset them was when I posted that I found a good deal on some Chinese steel radials to replace the dry rotted rubber. Nice folks, but operating on a different budget than the wife and I are. Same thing when I said that I had bought some paint and had started sanding the exterior. "Hey, the factory will paint that for you for $12,000"! Nice people, but it was not going to work running in that circle.