School Bus Conversion Resources

School Bus Conversion Resources (https://www.skoolie.net/forums/)
-   On the Road | Travel, Trips, Camp Sites, Tailgates (https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f20/)
-   -   Border crossing. (https://www.skoolie.net/forums/f20/border-crossing-11478.html)

Majikfoolbus 07-20-2015 02:17 AM

Border crossing.

I'm new to the Skoolie game and want to take my new bus/old bus up to British columbia canada really soon. Is there and special laws or regulations needed on a converted school bus in canada? Or is it a normal rv check at the border crossing?

slideforlife 07-20-2015 02:51 AM

probably changed since, but i took my skoolie up to whistler from Washington one summer for the glacier (2007). they just checked my papers and gave it the once over on the inside.

gbstewart 07-20-2015 06:55 AM

no rules or reg your welcome to come into Canada, just remember you mite be stereo typed for being in a bus, so you mite get looked at a bit harder.
gbstewart

HolyBus 07-20-2015 01:28 PM

Don't forget your passport. Or has that changed?

Hank's P-O-S 07-20-2015 01:54 PM

If you have air breaks you need an air endorsement, even for an RV.

Scooternj 07-20-2015 05:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hank's P-O-S (Post 117071)
If you have air breaks you need an air endorsement, even for an RV.

That's interesting, because NJ doesn't require it for a "Class A with air," as I asked our (un)friendly DMV...

family wagon 07-20-2015 06:39 PM

It was elsewhere on this forum that somebody mentioned BC requires the air brake endorsement even for RVs because they have so many twisty steep mountain roads and people kept dumping RVs at the bottom of the canyons. I thought they said BC was the only province with this requirement, though..? Not sure.

milkmania 07-20-2015 06:51 PM

oh, this thread is about the "other border":doh:

the friendly one and the one that doesn't get talked about as much:flowers:
it sure looks like beautiful country up there!